My Algebra 1 Skills List

I have enjoyed becoming part of the online math world. I have been a lurker for a very long time and have always appreciated how much everyone shares, helps and collaborates with each other.  We have PLC’s in my district and have had them for a few years now. Mine accomplished a lot in the first year, very little last year and this year we are just trying to figure out 8th Grade Common Core and the curriculum that goes along with it that we were given by our district, little attention will be paid to Algebra.  Then again that’s okay in a sense because the curriculum isn’t changing this year.  We don’t know what CC model the high school will move to, which may or may not change Algebra in the future.  Either way, it is kind of refreshing that 2 periods of math a day I know what I am doing and where I am going because it is Algebra 1.  I LOVE teaching Algebra 1.

I adopted SBG a few years back, gosh I think this is my 4th year doing it?  I can’t be sure, it’s all a blur.  🙂  I only started SBG in Pre-Algebra last year and have no idea how it will fit with our new CC curriculum this year, so I don’t want to share that one. Because I teach 8th Grade Algebra 1, I have to fit my skills into the Quarter grading system.  That was the fun part. After my years of doing SBG in Algebra 1, I think I finally like my skills list, which came from many of your lists online, our state standards, the way I intro and explain things and the district curriculum. I want to add more 21st Century Skills because we will be doing more activities that are in line with them, but I decided not to this year.  I am going to try the INB and figured that was all the change I wanted to do in Algebra 1 this year.  Here is my current Algebra 1 skills list, what do you think about it?

I am curious how the INB will go this year and if I will see improvement in their skill mastery.  I am nervous about the INB (in both Algebra and Pre-Algebra) and setting it up, keeping up with it, and being creative enough to come up with good right side stuff for them and good ideas for what they create on the left side.  I am all over everyone’s posts on INB, Everybody is a Genuis, Math = Love, and cheesemonkey wonders I am LOVING all of your INB posts!

I am so happy I jumped on the new blogger bandwagon. Thank you for making me feel welcome on here and on twitter. Have a great Wednesday!

3 thoughts on “My Algebra 1 Skills List

  1. For me (teaching at college level) it works better to have mastery tests on bigger chunks. In Beginning Algebra, I had Solving Equations, Graphing, Systems of Equations, and Factoring. Many of the tests were composed of smaller sub-tests that the students could retake one at a time. I want students to see how it all fits together, and I think that’s easier with less parts.

  2. Hi there!
    I am also doing the new blogger. I was curious what INB was? I like your skills list. I know that takes a lot of work, but it definitely helps in the long run. Do you let students make up their assessments?

  3. Another new blogger here. I also am using INBs (Interactive Notebooks) for the first time this year, and I share your anxiety about them. Is it just going to end up being the same two foldables (or whatever) over and over and over? And indeed I have been checking out the very blogs you mentioned above as well.

    Just between you and me (nobody else will read this, right?), aren’t you just a little bit annoyed at how awesome at all of this stuff Sarah at Math=Love seems to be when she’s only a first-year teacher? 😉

Leave a Reply

