#MyFavFriday: Count Off

I love the #MsSunFun, #Made4Math & #MyFavFriday because they keep me blogging and looking for something worthwhile to contribute.  I had some extra time during Advisory today and we played this game, it’s not really math related but it’s a great filler.  Our 8th grade students do a huge team building unit during Advisory through October, but we also continue it throughout the year.  This is part of our Team Building Activity Binder that I put together for the grade level teachers many many years ago. As we were playing I thought “This would be a great #MyFavFriday post!”.  I almost couldn’t wait for the day to be over so I could blog about it. 🙂  Enjoy!

COUNT OFF
Activity Type:
Communication and Trust

Benchmark: Communicates clearly; Working in groups: Utilizes interpersonal skills to work cooperatively in diverse groups to accomplish common goals.

Group Size: Any

Materials: None

Time: 5-15 minutes; it is a great filler activity.  You will find that the kids will want to play it for as long as possible.

Procedure:

  1. Have the students sit in desks with their heads down & eyes closed. (It helps to keep the communication levels down, which is necessary.)
  2. Explain that you are going to test their counting skills.  They will need to count as a group as high as they can, hopefully through all students in the class.
  3. The rules are each student must have a chance to say ONE number, and once a student has said a number, they can not say another number.
  4. If two people say the same number simultaneously, the group must start back at one.  (This is the key to the game. This is also where they will get the loudest, when they have to start over.)
  5. It works best if the teacher is the one who says “One”.
  6. IMPORTANT: Students cannot pre-plan who is going to say each number…don’t tell them they can’t, but try not to allow it either.

Variation:
If they can count through all the students in class, have them count backwards, by two’s, etc.

Debriefing:

  1. Discuss the challenges the group went through.
  2. How were the challenges finally solved?
  3. How did you feel when you had to start all over again?
  4. What was it like not starting out with a plan of action?
2 thoughts on “#MyFavFriday: Count Off

  1. I agree 100% – normally, I disappear from the blogging world during the school year, but with #made4math and #myfavfriday, I have to force myself to do something 🙂 I love this team building, I’m going to try it with my Advisory this next week!

    • And I am new to the blogging world so I am trying to stay involved and not disappear. It’s harder than I thought. 🙂 I’ve made a goal to keep doing #MSSunFun, #Made4Math & #MyFavFriday the rest of the year. I am glad you can use it; I would love to hear how it goes! I have tons of Advisory activities and would love share/exchange. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

