A shoutout to Remind

I don’t hide my love for the website/app Remind. It is fantastic.  I have been using Remind to text my students and parents without sharing my personal phone number for a few years.  It saves time, students love it and it is free!

I LOVE using Remind for my classes to send out positive quotes/inspirations on big days, fun trivia, reminders about homework, clarifications about homework, reminders about field trips, returning papers, etc. I also use it for my swim team practice group to send out positive quotes, fun swimming trivia, reminders about meets and practices, changes to a schedule, updates on meet performance and other fun messages. It’s SO easy to use and can be sent as a text or an email. Students don’t need to have a phone to receive messages, they can get it in their email accounts instead. Parents can sign up too, in fact I encourage it. It is ONLY an announcement system, they can’t text you back!

They just added two fun features in their recent update which came through my app today…the ability to take a poll/ask a question and get a stamped response and the ability to send voice updates. It’s a FREE program and it’s amazing. I like that it goes directly to the students and parents, they don’t have to check for a website, facebook, twitter or blog update…they get a text or an email with it right there. I can’t wait to try out the new features!

I posted my love on Twitter and @StephReilly brought up a good point that students seem to be burned out on Remind because so many of their teachers use it and send out LOTS of reminders. She even said her daughter didn’t want to sign up for her teacher’s account. I find that interesting because there are so many ways to communicate in today’s society and we as educators keep trying to “meet our students where they are” and now they aren’t as interested in the communications.  Maybe this will mean the circle will come back around and they will all learn how to use their assignment notebooks and write their assignments and details down. 🙂 I don’t know what the answer is, but I have yet to receive and negative comments about using Remind with my students or my swimmers, so I will keep it up!

Even though my list above looks like a lot, I checked my sent messages and it averages about two per week.  I like it because I can send a quick reminder I know the students will get and not have to type a long email that goes to their parent’s accounts instead.  I will consider what I send before I send it and I think this year (even though I have a small class), I will ask students and parents if they liked it at the end of the year.

Honestly, it’s great! Try it out this year if you haven’t before!

Here’s the link again.

(Disclaimer: Remind did not ask me to post about their product, I am posting out of my own love!)

One thought on “A shoutout to Remind

  1. Inspired…going to try Remind this year with math and with my running club! Interesting point about the potential burnout too. I’m thinking that this leverages texts “for good” though instead of perpetuating the “can’t associate cell phones with school” attitude.

Leave a Reply

