Never Ending To Do List

The first day for students is Thursday; we just had two days of teacher institute covering your normal back to school things and a handful of brand new things.  Tomorrow is teacher work day, the best day in our calendar, it allows teachers to do final prep, digest the previous two days, plan with other teachers and basically have a day to do what we need to do before we meet our new batch of students on Thursday.  It’s like the perfect built in mental health day so we can start the year fresh and ready to go.

I am feeling a little overwhelmed, which is normal for the first week of school.  I have all these different ideas on how I want to start the year, that I tend to put off the actual planning because it’s so hard to choose.  I have things written down, but not finalized.  I am going to try and do a bit of it tonight.

My classroom is bare. It was repainted this summer with shiny paint, so nothing holds up the posters.  Last year I tried command strips, hot glue, packing tape and finally gave into duct tape.  We have been told duct tape CAN NOT be used at all, in any manner.  I don’t know how to get things to stick on my walls. Someone already tried the Marvelous Tape and it fell down within two hours (she ended up using duct tape, but SHHHH don’t tell). The posters aren’t even official heavyweight paper posters, they are printed on printer paper and laminated because I tend to make my own or find them for free on the internet.

I am feeling like I have a LONG list of things to do and don’t know where to start.  Bonus is that I won’t see my 6th grade students for the first time until Monday, but Geometry starts right away on Thursday.  I will spend the morning tomorrow planning with other teachers that I co-teach with (7th grade and 8th grade), so not all of my teacher work day is for me. 🙂

This too shall pass, I know it will and I will be excited once I get to meet my kids!

8 thoughts on “Never Ending To Do List

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post–it describes perfectly how I feel during the week before the first day of school. I put off making the final decision about my first day and first week of school plans because it is so hard to choose from so many great ideas I found over the summer from other teachers.
    p.s. Have you tried sticky back velcro to keep posters on the painted walls–it worked for me at a school where all other kinds of adhesives failed.

    • Yes!! So glad there are others that do the same thing! 🙂 Today was first day and it went great!! I have tried the Velcro but the custodians complained about the backs not coming off the walls and leaving a lot of residue. Or taking off the paint. My boyfriend recommended gaffers tape, strength of duct tape but leaves no residue. We will see how it works!

  2. Thank you so much for your post. It is so comforting to know others are in exactly the same place – dealing with the same issues. I have the same issue with cinder block walls and things not sticking. This summer another teacher told me about Gorilla brand packing/shipping tape. It is clear like the regular brand – but my it does stick. I have also found that I can pull it from a corner and it comes off completely. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

