#Made4math: CCSS Flipbooks – My most used resource

20121001-135141.jpg

Okay…so I was thrown into the Common Core Standards this year with little direction from our district.  They had a committee that put together curriculum and they did a great job, but it was a little difficult to follow and just so much at one time…I think we were all seeing stars.  At the start of the year, we were looking for any resources we could find.

During one of our Institute Days, while searching for some resources I came across the Kansas Association of Teachers of Mathematics Common Core resources page.  And while it may not look like a lot at the start, if you scroll down to the middle of the page, you see a link for these AMAZING flipbooks.  They are for the Math Standards and broken down by grade level.  The teachers I work with and I were thrilled!!!   We gathered card stock paper to print them on and went to town.  My keen eye for organization allowed me to color code my book so each standard is a different color.  (For those that follow this blog or my Twitter feed, this is not surprising.) Check them out!

IMG_3105

In an earlier post, I reference making the Geometry one.  I opened up the High School Flipbook, but only printed the pages that I needed specifically for Geometry, since I will be teaching it next year.

How to make your own awesome flipbook:

1. Download and save the PDF for the flipbook you need
2. Open the file and go through the book counting how many pages for each standard strand. This will allow you to color code it as you print it.
3. It says you can print back to back, but I haven’t been successful ANY TIME I have tried to do that.
4. When you print you want to select 2 pages per sheet, so you get a handy small flipbook and not a large giant one.
5. Use the paper cutter to cut the pages in half. No other trimming of the sides is needed.
6. Now is the “fun” part, you will need to sit down with a good pair of scissors and cut off on the dotted lines (provided in the PDF file) to create all of the awesome HELFPUL tabs.
7. Use your three hold punch to punch two holes in the pages.
8. Get two binder rings from someone in your building…they can be found.  Or ask someone who scrapbooks.
9. Bind them together with the rings.
10. Put your name on them and show them off at every meeting you attending.  Make all other math teachers jealous!

There you go.  I use this awesome resource DAILY as I look for the standards I am teaching or will be teaching.

Thank you to Melissa Hancock for creating them and posting them on the KATM site!

55 thoughts on “#Made4math: CCSS Flipbooks – My most used resource

    • So glad you found it useful! I love love love them! I can put the 8th grade one away now and focus on Geometry. Making the flip book helped me get a little more excited to teach it. 🙂

      Thanks for visiting and for commenting!

    • Do you have the Common Cores for Language Arts and Reading (Middle School) from your State////The Dept. of Education here in Puerto Rico is mentioning in past meetings the Common Cores for next year ,,I would like to read something about it before they are implemented in our island…THANKS

      • Ms. Delgado, check out the checklists on the Common Core Curriculum website online. They are free in English.
        If you want them in Spanish, Susan Cotton has translated the standards into a similiar document on Teachers pay Teachers for a $6 per grade level.

  1. I was able to download the 3rd grade file and open it up! Is there anyway you could color code these for me too?! I am not that orgazized…yet anyway! My email is jyn23@att.net .. Thank you!!

  2. I was going to see if you had a color coded set for 5th grade? These are great and I love your site. My email is bknkhenderson@aol.com .. let me know and I will pay for these. This is my first year using the common core and I think this will be an invaluable resource:)

  3. This is wonderful! I guess you’ve been asked this before, reading the comments, but Do you have any idea where I could find something similar for social studies? Or did you all get together and do this? Thanks!

  4. this is very cool! ill be teaching math for the 1st time in several years and im legitimately scared of common core! lol. if you decide to take people up on the offers to buy one of these ill be the next in line!!

  5. Awesome Idea! I am just starting my residency and we are all common core here in cookeville! Thank you so much for the idea!

  6. I teach in KS and the flip books are very helpful. I have also mapped my 6th grade math units using the state of Georgia’s educational website.

  7. I am trying to make a 6th grade book and it’s about 73 pages. You mentioned in your post to do two pages per sheet, but if I do that then the tabs dont come out right. Can you help?

      • I started to just do it full sided and front to back, but then the tabs do not come out right unless I kept flipping the book back and forth and then the color coding didnt work that way either. I’m stuck. 😦

        • I just went to the 8th grade one that you have above and I still do not see how you got it to work two pages per page. Sorry for the questions! I really like the idea!

          • Thank you for all of your help! I know how to print two pages per sheet, but the problem I am coming to is this if I did two pages per sheet…. Page 1 would be the top page, Page 2 would be on the top of page 2 and page 3 would be on the bottom of page 2 and that works out great because page 3 has the tab. Page 4 would be on the top of page 3 and page 5 would be on the bottom of page 3. Now here comes the problem…. page 5 would be on the *top* of page 4 and that is the one with the next tab which I would need at the bottom.

  8. I was wondering if you have the original files. I found you via Pinterest but when I went to the website the flipbooks have been taken down :(. When you link to them, the only thing that opens up is a blank page. I really would like 6th, 7th, 8th Math, but am desperate for High School Algebra.

  9. Oh my gosh…I could kiss you! Thank you so much for sharing this awesome find! I believe most of us have just been “thrown in” and this breakdown is fantastic! Just wish I could find an ELA guide as well! And of course, a great, big thanks you to KS !! Way to go! To Sarah Pierce, above, the link for the flip books is written above in brown..it says, ” Kansas Association of Teachers of Mathematics Common Core resources page”. Click that! 🙂

  10. Pingback: 10 Pin Math & Show Me Some Lovin' - Lucky To Be In First TEST SITE

  11. I’ve downloaded a pdf of the 3rd grade flip book, but there are no tabs on the bottoms. They are just regular 8.5 x 11 worksheets. Am I missing something?

Leave a comment